Tefl

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tefl

I'm thinking of a new career in teaching English. I'm a native English speaker with a BA(Hons) Degree and I'm a Graphic Designer by trade. This is what I know so far:

The best 2 courses for teaching English to adults (which I think I would prefer) are the Cambridge 'CELTA' and the Trinity 'TESOL'.

I understand that The British Council and HK Polytechnic offer the CELTA course early next year - but the dates aren't confirmed yet. Does anyone know of any other good courses?

Has anyone taken these courses? How quickly did you find work afterwards? Where are the best types of places to apply for work? I understand that because I am here in Hong Kong on a dependent visa it will be fairly easy to obtain a work visa in this profession?

Please warn me of the bogus courses. I know there are a few around and I don't want to waste my money!

Any advice will be appreciated!

Thanks.

I think that the British Council course is about HK$20,000 - anyway lots of dosh. If you want to work in schools then I think you need to do the PCGE or equivalent. If you want to work in language schools/privately run centres then any TEFL will do. I actually worked in a language centre without a TEFL qualification.

british council doesnt do tefl course anymore..since you are a native english speaker and a graduate, you can probably reel in a teaching job with just that..good luck!

I've done my TESOL with ESF Educational Services and found it invaluable. I've also heard good things about the TESOL course done at the British Council. If you are interested, here's their site:-

http://www.edservices.org.hk/english...InfoCTESOL.htm

Though there are places who would hire "teachers" on the basis of their skin color, it will be to your benefit to at least undergo some teacher training. And frankly, if I'm a paying parent, I wouldn't want my child to be taught by an untrained and unqualified teacher.

As for the PGDE, check out HKU:-