Marketing Salary?

Closed Thread

Marketing Salary?

I was wondering what was an appropriate salary for a Brand Manager or Marketing Manager here in Hong Kong. I have an MBA from a U.S. program (Top 5) and 6-7 years of experience: 2 years in FMCG, 1.5 years in Retail and 3 years in consulting.

700-750HKD per year would be comparable to my last salary -- already calculated the tax structure differences, etc. Is this too much? people are telling me that salary is for someone with 10+ years experience.

thanks for your help.

I think that's very reasonable. The tough part is finding a company that is reasonable.

Help.......

My partner is coming with me to HK and works in the Marketing (coms) field. Is there anyone we can talk to or a contact for possible work. She will need to be sponsored?

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Neil

I don't understand why people move to hk without a job ready? And also she needs sponsorship? Thats not going to happen or shall I say extremely hard for that to happen. I would not come to hk unless you have a job offer. HK COL is very high compared to other places. Also the job market right now is not good, meaning their are more people looking for jobs and then their are jobs. I would tell your gf to stay right where shes at until she gets a job offer with sponsorship.

To be honest Micci it's pretty unlikely someone would get a job in HK unless they were here, with a local address and phone number on the CV - otherwise it will go straight in the bin. This is what I've been told by recruiters anyway. That is unless what you do is very much in demand.

Of course you can't "move" to HK without an employment visa, but you can come on holiday. Technically you're not meant to be looking for work whilst on holiday here, but it's very difficult to differentiate between job hunting and networking.