Freelancing in HK?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Freelancing in HK?

Hey all,

Will be making the move to HK from UK very soon, just thought "fcuk it, let's do it!"

I'm a web designer and was planning on starting off with freelance or contract work in the beginning as there's a better degree of flexibility and freedom which will enable me to enjoy HK more! My question is, how do the taxes work and is there anything I need to declare as a freelancer/contracter? I have an HK id, will this help? Any other issues to consider??

Thanks in advance

What type of HK ID card?

As LT says - what type of HKID? If you mean that you are a HK Permanent Resident then no more Immigration requirements for you, and your spouse (if legally married) can get a Dependant Visa with no employment restrictions if they aren't a HK PR. If you're not a HK PR (i.e. it's just an old ID card from when you previosuly worked here) then you can't do this legally from an Immigration point of view without a visa which allows you to work, and they are not easy to get as a freelancer. You'd need something like a QMAS or CIES visa.

From a tax point of view, you must register your business (if freelancing that generally means as a "Sole Proprietor" business which just takes a few few minutes and, currently, $450 per year. You need to produce accounts and complete your tax return with the relevant figures. If your revenue is over HK$500,000/year you need to get the accounts audited. Tax as a Sole Proprietor is, roughly, 15% on profits above your personal allowances, which would currently be HK$216,000 for a married couple with no kids and no mortgage. So if, for example, your profit for the year was $316,000 then you would pay about HK$15,000 in tax.

Last edited by PDLM; 04-11-2009 at 09:21 AM.

Thanks to PDLM and Load Toad! That is exactly the kinda information I was after. I have a HK permanent residence but have no stars if that makes any difference?