Unemployment benefit

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unemployment benefit

Hi,

I have moved last year in May-2007 from Singapore to Hong Kong (more than 2.5 years) and working in invetsment banking in IT. This year so far has been good, but if the markets falling again, then I fear that the job cuts will start again. I want to know few facts as I am still new in Hong Kong.

1. I want to know what kind of unemployment benefits does foreign nationals (Non-PR holders) can claim in Hong Kong if they are made redundant in their Job?

2. Also, what's the normal severance package does employers offer in Japan? Is it negotiable or the employers force the employees to agree the package whtever beong offered.

3. Does the HK laws favour employees or employers because in some countries it favours the employees.

4. Is there any unemployment insurance schemes in Hong Kong?

Last edited by despo; 30-11-2009 at 06:37 PM. Reason: typo mistakes

1. If you are not a Permanent Resident then none (assuming you mean from the state). You may remain in HK until the expiry date of your visa, but you must leave when it expires.

2. In Japan I have no idea. In Hong Kong, details here: http://www.labour.gov.hk/eng/public/...seGuide/10.pdf. If you've been employed less than 2 years then the answer is none at all as a legal right, so anything your employer offers you is a bonus.

3. Employers, generally. See the link above and the adjacent chapters for more details of HK legislation.

4. Sure, but like any insurance, on average you will pay in more than you get out.

Last edited by PDLM; 30-11-2009 at 06:40 PM.