interesting software development

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

interesting software development

Hi All;

I am a "gweilo" software developer who recently resigned from my ibank job because of burnout. I was not happy there because it was a high stress deadend position with no growth. I was giving it 110% and in return I was getting nothing but grey hairs on my head. I decided to leave because this position was starting to affect my health.

While I was giving my 110%, I neglected many things in my personal life. My family, my finances, myself, another gig. I am now using this downtime to do things I did not do while working. I am getting a dependent visa (since my wife is a local). I am thinking about taking a course in Putonghua and/or Guangdongwua. I am thinking very hard about what I should do next. I plan on getting aggressive with my job search early next year. For now I am taking it easy and recharging.

I.T. is all I know and what I have been doing for 20 years. I would prefer to a career change, but I have a family to support and I.T. is what pays the bills. It also appears that changing careers in this climate and in Hong Kong would not be the best idea for me. I am totally burned out on the whole iBank situation so I thought, maybe I can try to find something in I.T. that interests me. One thought that I have is "getting closer to the hardware." It would be interesting to do work to write firmware or something of that sort. I have EE experience and doing some EE (aka breadboarding) coupled with using my software development knowledge sounds very interesting to me.

So my question is, does anyone know of any gigs where you are looking for guys to do low-level software development work? Are there any known local companies that I can cold-call to see if I can create an opportunity for myself?

If Shatin is not too far I would have a look at the companies in the science park:

Hong Kong Science & Technology Parks