Working Holiday Visa

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Working Holiday Visa

I am eligible for a Working Holiday Visa for HK and would love to go yet have been finding it hard to retrieve info over the internet about what type of temporary work (the three month maximum duration with one employer) is available... I have heard that native English speakers do well plus I am a university graduate, is it possible to gain a sponsor on a WHV? And can WHV's use recruitment agencies? I hope that I am not frustrating ppl with these questions but would love some up-to-date info

if you have a working holiday visa, you DON'T NEED A sponsor... that's the whole point of the visa!

you won't be able to find work from your home country for something temporary, such as what you would get with a working holiday visa.

with this type of visa, you could:

try to find a temp job teaching english (if english is your native tongue)
    find work in a bar (pay is terrible, but work is fun and you will meet a lot of people)
    try some retail (unlikely in most areas unless you target shops that deal 99% with foreigners... i'm thinking places like horizon plaza in ap lei chau)

There are expat groups for Aussies, Kiwis and the Irish (the eligible english speaking countries) in Hong Kong who might be able to help out as well. Depending on your skill set (e.g. any IT experience or sports coaching) there may be some more interesting work out there as you don't need a sponsor. Given the small quotas there isn't a well trodden path out there.

Australia (annual quota = 1000)
    Germany (annual quota = 100)
    Ireland (annual quota = 100)
    Japan (annual quota = 250)
    New Zealand (annual quota = 200)

actually, canadians are now amongst the group that can apply for working holiday visas. (agreement only signed a couple of months ago)

Not quite yet - it's signed, but only comes into effect on 1 March 2010.