Internships or Entry level job for fresh grad?

Closed Thread

Internships or Entry level job for fresh grad?

Hi All,

I'm a fresh grad from UCI doubling in Economics and Political Science (3.5+ gpa) with 1 quarter experience in economic research and 1.5 years as an intern/junior analyst at a financial services firm and a start up fund of funds. I had also committed some time to teaching autistic children. On my last undergraduate quarter, I studied business and economics at Fudan University in Shanghai, China. I speak native level English, conversational cantonese and basic mandarin chinese. My chinese writing proficiency is lacking.

I am now looking for work or an internship in Hong Kong.

I am an American citizen without a Hong Kong visa.

Do any of you have tips on finding work/internship in Hong Kong/China and finding a visa. I understand that working visas are only issued through sponsorships of firms.

I am told that MNC's are better targets for visa sponsorship.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited by gahseng; 21-01-2010 at 05:43 PM.

For a permanent job most banks go through their recruitment programme which in most cases have ceased. Recruitment season for internships is now on.

Before going through the visa issue etc, you best bet is to get employed in NY or London and then get transferred when you have some more experience.

If you want to move directly, start networking now and go through less formal methods.

You could also go for commercial banks or pan-asian banks, big four, asset managers.

I would also try to contact recruiters, they may have junior level positions that require little work experience; though it may not be the best start, you could make a huge difference by getting your foot in the door. Good luck!

Wow! Thanks "Fth" and "D for David". I forgot to add, I am currently in Hong Kong but I do NOT have a HK ID or permanent residence. I do have family here who is letting me bum around temporarily.