Unpleasant work environment

Closed Thread

Unpleasant work environment

I have been working at an organization for 6 years since finishing university. For the past two months, I've had to report to a newly-hired supervisor who has clearly taken a dislike to me. Without going into details,
    I have become unpopular after drawing attention to improprieties in some past research/reporting and raising objections to the supervisor's suggested measures (which seem both inadequate and dishonest).
    I have taken the issue to a director, who has mediated, but his patience seems to have worn thin with me for having been assertive.

Although no one has said anything, in practice I seem to have been divested of my responsibilities on various projects. I'm being assigned the type of work I was doing as a fresh graduate and told to submit
    weekly summaries akin to a timesheet.

I feel I am persona non grata at this office and have no future at this organization. I can just go along until I find another job, or I can go on the warpath and raise the issue of these improprieties with higher authorities (it's a small organization and there's really no other senior person from within who can likely help). Either way, I'm rather worried about getting a fair recommendation from this employer in order to move on. This is really the only organization I've worked for and before all this, I was considered
    a good employee. I'm quite concerned that this supervisor and the director will be vindictive and give me a poor reference if contacted by a potential employer.

Can anyone suggest a strategy? If it weren't for this matter, I'd probably resign at once.

What sort of area are you in?

Have you made contacts within the industry, outside your company? Do people outside your reporting structure know you're ok?

At the end of the day you have to be pragmatic.. there are battles and then there are battles you can win. Which would you rather fight?

I agree with Knowitall.