Like Tree4Likes

Departing Before Final Paycheck

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Departing Before Final Paycheck

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere.

I'm a teacher, so I don't have any duties during the summer. I plan on departing permanently from HK once the term ends.

My contract ends in the middle of the summer, though, meaning I'll still get paid for 2 months after I leave.

First question: am I legally allowed to have permanently departed HK and still finish out my contract? In other words, do I have to stay in Hong Kong until the very end of my contract (assuming I have no duties and there's nothing in the contract itself that specifies so)?

Second: assuming I'll have settled with IRD when I leave, will I have to coordinate with them (and my employer) again to pay taxes on these final months?

Thanks

On the second part, your employer is required by law to submit to IRD department form IR56G (Notification by an employer of an employee who is about to depart from Hong Kong). This form IR56G is almost identical to the normal IR56B that you get at the end of every tax year to do your yearly taxes, the only difference is that its done when you are leaving HK rather than in March every year.

Then your employer is also required by law to withhold your final month salary payment. Then you need to get your arse down to Wan Chai IRD office and go to 3 or 4 different levels to inform them you are leaving HK, do an on the spot tax return for the Period from April to the day you are leaving, pay your taxes on this amount, then IRD will issue you a "Letter of release" which you can give to employer.

You then give letter of release to employer and they can give you final months salary.

shri likes this.

Thanks, I follow all that. Issue is -- I'll continue to get paid after I've departed. It doesn't seem I'll be taxed on this income before I leave ("April to the day you are leaving"), so I'm wondering how I should deal w that income.