Like Tree76Likes

Edinburgh or Glasgow?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Edinburgh or Glasgow?

Hi guys,

Newbie here, though I’ve been lurking in the shadows for quite a while.

I’d like to seek advice from the Scottish contingent (or anyone who has ever lived in Scotland) of the GeoExpat community on a few things related to life in Scotland.

I’m planning to move to Scotland at the end of the year and will most likely live in either Edinburgh or Glasgow. I was wondering if anyone could give me the lowdown on what it’s like to live in these cities.

I’m a semi-retired ESL teacher who’s originally from HK but spent my formative years (high school and college) in North America. Obviously, language will not be a problem for me and I feel totally comfortable living among foreigners of all nationalities and ethnicities. As a matter of fact, I prefer to live among the “locals” and would rather NOT live anywhere near Chinatown or in districts where there’s a large Chinese population (no offense to the Chinese and other Hongkongers!).

I’m in my mid-50s so a vibrant nightlife is NOT a priority for me when it comes to choosing a place to live. I’m not into sports, but I love music and the arts. From what I’ve gathered on the Internet, Edinburgh’s more artistic and Glasgow is more athletic, is that correct?

Since I’m a single female and will be living alone so a low(er) crime rate is really important to me. I understand both Edinburgh and Glasgow are urban/cosmopolitan cities so a certain degree of crime is expected.

Good public transport will also be essential as I don’t relish the prospect of driving on the “other” side of the road (I learned to drive in North America but have never driven a car in HK).

Please understand that I’m NOT asking which city is BETTER, only that which city is more suitable for me to live in based on my background.

Any advice and insights will be much appreciated!

misshappy26 likes this.