Like Tree3Likes

Where to train thai/kickboxing in HK?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question Where to train thai/kickboxing in HK?

Hello all.

I'm looking for some advice on where to continue my kickboxing training in Hong Kong for when I'll be going there later this year. I stumbled over an old thread (http://hongkong.geoexpat.com/forum/77/thread4620.html) dealing with a similar question, however it seemed quite outdated so I thought I'd start my own. I also checked out The List (Sports, Indoor | The List - The website that knows Hong Kong), but would like to hear some personal experiences / recommendations regarding which club to join.

Some info about me:
    I have been training kickboxing for around 1,5 years, however I have no sparring or actual fighting experience from kickboxing as of now. I currently practice 2-3 times a week and supplement it with the occasional running, if the weather allows for it! I would also like to continue my training at least 2 times a week when I go to HK. At the moment my primary goal with the training is to get/stay fit and cut, and not to get into an actual fighting career. However, I wouldn't mind getting to a level where sparring
    can become a part of the workout.

What I'm looking for:
    I'm mostly looking for a club with a good atmosphere, nice premises and skilled trainers. I'd of course also be interested in making some new friends As I hardly speak any Cantonese, I would prefer the training to be in English. Furthermore, being a student means I'll also have to consider the membership fee. So anything above 1500HKD/month would probably be out of the question, and I would prefer to bump it down below 1000HKD/month. (In Copenhagen I currently pay 200DKK/month which is approximately 300HKD!)