Like Tree20Likes

Car buying for complete newbie

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Car buying for complete newbie

Thinking of buying a car. Usual story, kids now getting much more mobile. Uber / taxi / public transport now starting to be a bit of a hassle.

Haven't owned a car in, well, never (never needed to before).

Where to start?

Not expecting to buy a new car, probably good second hand one.

Would need it to fit the kids (and their car seats), someone up front and maybe someone else in the back.

Ideally a sedan or maybe a small MPV.

Where to go from here? Not in a rush, so happy to wait a bit of time to find a decent deal.

How much does one spend on a decent second hand car?

Quote Originally Posted by pin:
    Thinking of buying a car. Usual story, kids now getting much more mobile. Uber / taxi / public transport now starting to be a bit of a hassle.

Where to start?

Would need it to fit the kids (and their car seats), someone up front and maybe someone else in the back.

Where to go from here? Not in a rush, so happy to wait a bit of time to find a decent deal.

Personal opinion... I simply do not understand why anyone with a family would consider a sedan/saloon...

If you're lugging people and things you want an estate or an SUV or and MPV...

My strategy has always been to buy the best car I can find with a year's worth of MOT for under 25k... odds are it will you get 1 or 2 years out of it... you can get some cool, safe cars in that price range; I've had 2 RX300s, a BMW X5, an ML320 and a Nissan Elgrand... all of them had 80k on the clock but when I've read the keys they've averaged 150k, still low mileage...

People are gonna tell you to spend 150k on a used car... up to you... HK and kids are hard on cars... it will look a lot rougher in 2 years... spend 25k, if it fucks up, walk away...

1. Budget
    2. how many seats
    3. max how many years old car are you willing to except

imparanoic likes this.