Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By wtbhotia

obtaining my driving license

Closed Thread

obtaining my driving license

hello guys

i just need some information. im a complete beginner in driving and i want to obtain my driving license. i want to drive an auto

sofar, i have been to the licencing offices and obtained my learners license. the person working there also told me to apply for my written test? i told him i dont know anything about driving and asked him:

if i should take driving lessons before applying for the written test or can i do my written test regardless?

and at this point, i have no idea what he said. he told me many people apply for their learners and written test at the same time. anyway so i told him i'll have a think about it.

so should i just apply for my written test regardless of not knowing anything about driving or should i take my lessons first and then apply? they have given me a road users guide (yellow booklet) which i have read. is this sufficient enough?

please help. thank you!

P.S. i am doing this process privately and def. not planning to do it through a school.

Last edited by ZIGGAS; 20-04-2010 at 09:55 PM.

The written test is fairly easy. Just read the booklet, memorize the signs, and also any loose inserts they give on drunk driving etc. And you should be fine.

I quite like drunk driving. Particularly whilst playing GTA.

20 questions multiple choice written test, u pass that then u can go and learn, find a private instructor (HK$150 per hour but u only get 45mins), min u have to pay them 10 hours.

book the instructors car for the road test.

road test:
    L parking or parrell parking depending on your address, go out on the road up a hill, stop in middle of hill, do a hill start, then go onto another road, do a 3 point turn and then return back to the starting point.