Like Tree37Likes

Lamma Island -- good for a journalist on a shoestring budget?

Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Lamma Island -- good for a journalist on a shoestring budget?

Hi,
    Me and my family are moving from Sweden to Hong Kong early September.

Since I work as a freelance journalist we will be on a tight budget, at least in the beginning.

I've heard that Lamma Island is both cheap and relaxed. I've also hears that it has became something of a expat hub for people in the creative sectors. Is that true?

Is it a good place to live?

Very grateful for all advice!

Cheers

Is any of your family HK Residents?

Quote Originally Posted by johanjohan
    Hi,
    Me and my family are moving from Sweden to Hong Kong early September.

Since I work as a freelance journalist we will be on a tight budget, at least in the beginning.

I've heard that Lamma Island is both cheap and relaxed. I've also hears that it has became something of a expat hub for people in the creative sectors. Is that true?

Is it a good place to live?

Very grateful for all advice!

Cheers
    I think this is generally correct. There are a few journalists and creative types on lamma and it is quite cheap. U should also consider park island which also has people
    in this industry and seems a popular place for
    Scandinavians to live.

And your visa status that allows you to reside in Hong Kong when you only have a shoestring budget is?

Also, if you are currently in the middle of a war crimes trial, Lamma Island may not be an option to you. FFS.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using GeoClicks Mobile

Quote Originally Posted by PDLM
    And your visa status that allows you to reside in Hong Kong when you only have a shoestring budget is?
    He is probably coming on a holiday visa. Should
    be fine to do that if working freelance for overseas media.

Quote Originally Posted by randy1
    He is probably coming on a holiday visa. Should
    be fine to do that if working freelance for overseas media.