Like Tree6Likes

Getting geoblocked on some internet connections

Closed Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
  1. #11

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    薄扶林
    Posts
    47,774

    Nord?

    aw451 likes this.

  2. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2018
    Location
    香港特别行政区
    Posts
    2,784

    I often get geoblocked on websites these days, even without a VPN. Think HK is on the naughty IP list.


  3. #13

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    The World
    Posts
    1,948
    Quote Originally Posted by aw451:
    I often get geoblocked on websites these days, even without a VPN. Think HK is on the naughty IP list.
    I discovered recently that you can't book tickets on Easyjet.com from HK, you have to use a VPN to access the website.

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    333

    FYI - Lately I have been geoblocked about 2/3 of the time when trying to view classified ads. This is from addresses in the 143.89.*.* range, which is the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Sometime refreshing will fix the issue. Sometimes not and I close the browser window and move on. I am going to the ads directly from links in the RSS feed.


  5. #15

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    薄扶林
    Posts
    47,774
    Quote Originally Posted by spode:
    FYI - Lately I have been geoblocked about 2/3 of the time when trying to view classified ads. This is from addresses in the 143.89.*.* range, which is the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Sometime refreshing will fix the issue. Sometimes not and I close the browser window and move on. I am going to the ads directly from links in the RSS feed.
    Can you PM me your RAY ID when you see the blocked page? I cannot search partial IP addresses and do not find any thing for HKUST addresses. May be they're routing through a security provider which might be tagging you as a bot ...
    spode likes this.

  6. #16

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Posts
    142

    When I was in Belgium I couldn't access Geoexpat, strange... Had to use a VPN. This was in May 2021...


  7. #17

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,189

    Also Equinix UK IP blocks also blocked.


  8. #18

    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Posts
    170

    I get blocked when using Apple's "Private Relay" feature, every so often.


  9. #19

    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    薄扶林
    Posts
    47,774
    Quote Originally Posted by Fenix2:
    Also Equinix UK IP blocks also blocked.
    ASNumber or ray id please.. many of the UK blocks are related to subnets used by Nigerian scammers.

  10. #20

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1,189
    Quote Originally Posted by shri:
    ASNumber or ray id please.. many of the UK blocks are related to subnets used by Nigerian scammers.
    This is the public wifi inside the data center.

    Sorry I don't have any info, when ware blocked we can't report, when we plug back into non blocked internet, the page refreshes and the site loads, loosing the info you want. Maybe that needs rethinking.