Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Satay Sue

Starting a new career in finance

Closed Thread

Starting a new career in finance

Hey, I am hoping to start a new career in finance. For the last 5 years I have been an English teacher, but now I want to get into banking. I am part of the .1% that genuinely enjoys watching CNBC, and this is an area that I have a strong passion for.

Being 28, my degree is in International Business with a focus in marketing. I have passed the HKSI exams in Securities, Derivatives, and Asset Management, but I am limited with my language ability. I can speak decent Putonghua, but no Cantonese.

Was just wondering if anyone has been in a similar situation and might be able to give any advice? Im happy and under contract at my school until July, so Im in no rush. My day finishes at 1pm in Sheung Shui so I was would be happy to work for free in the afternoons for a leading bank.

Thanks in advance for any tidbits of knowledge the geoexpat community could bequeath.

I wish you the best of luck. I don't want to be negative but everyone I know who has a "career in finance" started when they were a lot younger. Most banks have laid people off recently, rumours of more to follow.

I totally agree with SS. Not wanting to shatter your hopes but this is not a good time to be considering a career move into banking. At 28 with no relevant experience, it wouldn't be a straightforward move at the best of times but right now, you're facing an uphill battle up a potentially vertical slope. Most banks have hiring freezes and/or have been making major job cuts, and as SS says, rumours are that there are more cuts to come in 2012. For those that already have jobs in banking, there is no job security at all. I have colleagues who were given 15 mins notice to leave the office when they were cut last month. No farewells, no advanced warning.....it's brutal right now. Not an industry to aspire to joining.