Need Advice - Starting Apparel Brand

Closed Thread

Need Advice - Starting Apparel Brand

Hi everyone,

I've used geoexpat for a lot of research from moving to Hong Kong to just living here and I have found this community to be incredibly useful. But this is my first time actually posting.

I'm looking for some expert advice on starting an apparel brand here in Hong Kong.

I have had an active wear apparel idea for a very long time and am finally going to make it a reality. Problem is I have NO experience in the fashion industry - never worked in the industry nor did I go to school for it. And I want to actually create the product, not just buy from white label and slap a logo on it.

Having figured out my audience and how I want to make my products different/better (super rough sketches and notes), what is my next step? Is it figuring out my specs? Pattern-making? Finding fabric? Creating a sample?

I would ideally like to find a local company or person that can help me with this.

Thank you in advance!

Have you thought of connecting with the local design schools - if nothing, summer is here and you could get a part time student to perhaps help you navigate through some basics?

BA (Hons) Fashion Design

https://www.polyu.edu.hk/itc/en/prog...ate_14490.html

List goes on ...

Quote Originally Posted by shri:
    Have you thought of connecting with the local design schools - if nothing, summer is here and you could get a part time student to perhaps help you navigate through some basics?

BA (Hons) Fashion Design

https://www.polyu.edu.hk/itc/en/prog...ate_14490.html

List goes on ...

Thanks Shri, this was one method I actually didn't think about. I was directly thinking about finding a fabric source and finding someone or a company to help with the production - techkit and creating samples. I will definitely look into fashion schools/students for help with.