Client Owes Money/Company Shares

Closed Thread

Client Owes Money/Company Shares

As a quick background. A client (I work as a freelancer) hired me with an agreement signed that I would be paid in shares within the start-up company or in cash (my choice at the end of the project). I have worked with this person in 'a previous life' but in this context he is now CEO for a start-up IT application/software firm.

Anyway, I have invoiced for $4,000-odd and said that I would like to be paid in cash (thank goodness that it is not more than this as it was originally a $32,000 program).

Anyway he says he has no cash. The company is still going and changing.

How can I get my money? I don't want to take him to small claims but want to push him to either pay up or formally give me these 'shares' that he doesn't have yet as the company has not listed and it looks like it isn't going to. They are now expanding overseas.

I never should have gone down the 'share' path as I just don't know enough about how it works!

Any thoughts/advice appreciated.

Last edited by 0ze_Kid; 12-06-2009 at 01:32 PM.

What legal entity do you have the contract with? Just the person?

A company doesn't have to be listed to have shares - all registered limited companies must have them (the vast majority of companies are not listed).

Your options for recourse will depend on the terms of the contract. Could you provide more details about it?

I'm surprised that a company that is expanding internationally can't afford to pay their freelance staff $600 though (whether it's HKD, USD, AUD etc.)

>> Anyway he says he has no cash.

Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire .....

They have no right to be in business and not pay such small amounts.