Like Tree302Likes

Roaming gangs of Mainlanders stealing children from Hong Kong shopping malls

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 38 1 2 3 4 9 ... LastLast

Roaming gangs of Mainlanders stealing children from Hong Kong shopping malls

Ok, I scoffed hard when I was told the story about a 'friend of a friend'. It seems there is always a tale about a kid being kidnapped from Ikea/Disney/Walmart etc, so much so that Snopes.com even has urban legend pages about them.

But I got wind from the "mommy circles" recently that worried whispers are going around about 'mainlanders' roaming some shopping malls in Hong Kong grabbing kids. I took it with a grain of salt and got home to do some digging, finding only this blog post on the matter (I'm gathering there is more in the Chinese-media but I'm not very good at searching through that):

Rumours of Children Abduction by Mainland Chinese Heighten in Hong Kong

Kind of wondering if the current HK-Mainlander tension is spilling over into some tales, or if the cultural differences (i.e. hugging a random kid) is shocking a few people. Or maybe there are gangs out there unto no good?

So anyone else hearing these rumors? I'm a bit skeptical to say the least.

Last edited by penguinsix; 11-03-2012 at 03:00 PM.
    dear giant likes this.

All teachers were alerted at my kindergarten on Friday, supposedly 1 in Tuen Mun and 1 in TST. Nothing in the news of course......

yes, it was in the news... the chinese news. it was in hubby's paper last week. there were even photos of the supposed people involved. it took up an entire page in the chinese paper. sorry, though, i can't remember which paper it was in.

dear giant likes this.

Ah the usual bullshit going round then.

Oh a mainlander talked to my child they must be doing something bad because they're mainlanders etc etc.

Then you get Chinese whispers etc etc.

Sigh

Football16 likes this.

Wouldn't it be easier to abduct kids in PRC than in HK of all places.