How to find puppies for sale

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

How to find puppies for sale

My husband & I finally have a schedule where we have time to have a dog. We are looking for a pure bred puppy (haven't decided on breed yet) that comes from a breeders home (not a pet shop). I'm just starting to learn about the dog world in HK. Where do you find puppies for sale. Is there ads somewhere or an organization of breeders here? Thanks.

Homey

We have just bought a pure breed King Charles Spaniel puppy about 8 weeks ago. We did a lot of research and settled on a pet shop in causeway bay which was recommended by some people in this forums. PM for more details.

If I were to do this all over again, I would not buy locally. Instead, you can go through a couple of vets who can order the puppy for you directly from Auz. Again, I can help you with some names - just PM me.

The problem with buying locally is that you just don't know the background of where the puppy came from. We are pretty certain that our's was smuggled from the mainland. It was really skinny and not a good shape with a bad cough etc. You know that once you have bought it, its not a toy, its a living thing, and you give it your best. Luckily for us the puppy is now doing fine.

Finally, make sure you know what you are letting yourself into - its hard work.

cheers

Smile

Hey Homey, having a dog is one of the best thing I've ever done in my life! Just out of curiosity, why choose to buy when you can give a home to one from the local shelters? They sometimes have pure breds and if the puppies are born in the place, the ppl there can give you the dog's history too. Perhaps you might want to consider checking it out. Whatever your decision maybe, congratulations and i hope you have fun raising your new family member. Next, you'll be logging on the animal forum of this site.