AROMATHERAPY FOR CATS- URGENT!

Closed Thread

AROMATHERAPY FOR CATS- URGENT!

HI DOES ANYONE KNOW IF ORANGE AND MARJORAM ESSENTIAL OILS ARE SAFE FOR CATS? I READ ON SOME WEBSITES AROMATHERAPY ARE SAFE, AND SOME SAYS NONE ARE, SOME SAYS SOME OILS ARE....SO I'M REALLY CONFUSED.

ANYONE CAN HELP??? I'M TALKING ABOUT THE ONES FOR LIGHTING ON TOP OF A CANDLE. THANKS.

I think, but I'm no expert, that the oils you use to burn on top of those ceramic burners are usually different from aromatherapy oils used in massage. Which means that they haven't been designed for application on the body (human or feline).

If you're certain that the oils you're using in the burner are medicinal-grade, so to speak, then the next question is what has the cat done with the oil? Have you given it an oil massage, or has it knocked the oil over and got some on itself or has it drunk the oil?

If the oil has been ingested or is in the cat's eye, then take it to the vet. When you pay the vet's bill, make a mental note to keep oils out of the cat's way in future (easier said than done, I know!).

If the oil is on the fur and the cat hasn't licked it all off yet, then try giving it a bath (good luck). When you pay the doctor's bill for treating scratches, bites, innoculation against rabies and cat-scratch fever, make a mental note to keep oils out of the cat's way in future.

It's been six hours since you posted your question, so if the cat is looking and behaving as normal, probably it's all ok now. If the aromatherapy oils are the ones designed for massage and therapeutic treatments, then I wouldn't worry too much because they're generally pure. If it's just a scented liquid with essential oils and other perfumes in it designed to make your room smell nice, then a visit to the vet is probably worth it.