Should we move back to Hong Kong?

Should we move back to Hong Kong?

Hi all,

I'm a Chinese, born in Hong Kong, and lived in Hong Kong over 30 years until I moved to the US three years ago. My husband, who is an American citizen, and I decided to stay in the US because we found that we would have an easier start here than in Hong Kong.

After a year, I received my Green Card which allowed me going back to school. I'm now a full-time college student with major in Computer Information Systems while my husband is an English teacher in my school. I will be graduated on May 2007, and potentially will have a decent job from a good and big American company.

Everything is going well. My question came out because we probably will be moving to Illinois for my job where my husband has no idea, as he has been living in the South and the West Coast in his life. He has mixing feelings about moving, and worrying about looking for a job himself.

In fact, I'm still adapting the lifestyle here in the US. I always miss Hong Kong and still hoping to go back home one day. My husband loves Hong Kong after his visit twice. He sounds more excited if we move to Hong Kong than Illinois. So, I am thinking if we move straight back to Hong Kong after my graduation is a good idea.

The biggest concern is our financial situation. Definitely I won't have a package as an expat, but with my another degree and working experiences, I should get a job in Hong Kong without big troubles. However, my husband will have concerns for long working hours in Hong Kong, and I'm afraid he might not get a job easily at his age.