Shipping wine to HK?

Closed Thread

Shipping wine to HK?

Hi all,

After a 3 year absence from HK I will, thankfully, shortly be returning. I have been living in Europe during this time and have built up a reasonable wine collection, around 200 bottles good for drinking through the next 10 years.

Whilst I understand wine doesn't travel real well and HK's climate is not the best for wine, I would like to bring at least a reasonable quantity with me (for my personal enjoyment), say 100 bottles or so.

I have spoken to movers here who advise me I can drop in a few boxes with the furniture and my other belongings but not more than this.

Does anyone have any practical experience of bringing larger quantities of wine for personal use into Hong Kong (ie not for sale / trade)?

Does my residency status make any difference? I am a permanent resident.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Your residency status is irrelevant.

Would recommend you drop [email protected] a line ... the official line is usually the worst case scenario.

In the Lair of the Village Idiot's Apprenctice

Our financial secretary has a similar quandry. Whenever he is running low on juice, he has a few cases airfreighted over from his cellars in France. Of course it helps that our Henry is loaded and stumps up the 90% duty without a murmmer.

When I last checked about shipping wine from US to HK, I was told I need a HK import license (basically meaning that I am in the wine business). Otherwise, one can only carry one's legal limit (I think 2 750ml per person?) per entry into HK, even if you have residency.

I think all this fuss mainly due to the high alcohol tax in HK. I think you may need to check into the duty you may be liable for if you ship your wine to yourself (assuming you don't have a HK alcohol import license).