Like Tree103Likes

Is giving up a $150k Engineering job in Silicon Valley to move to HK a bad idea?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 4 9 ... LastLast

Is giving up a $150k Engineering job in Silicon Valley to move to HK a bad idea?

I work in tech as a security engineer in Silicon Valley and I would need to find a job that pays 1.1 million hkd per year to be equivalent to $150k usd. I don’t think there are any engineering jobs that pay that much so should I not even think about it?

MandM! likes this.

What's up, Duck?
    You only mention salary and if that's the only criteria then the answer should be clear cut (after figuring in the difference in cost of living). Are there other reasons you would consider moving?

shri likes this.

Are you going to miss your spacious home and garage with remote door. Excellent supermarkets, the convenience of drive thru take out, the uncrowded nature of doing your day to day stuff, fresh air, your innovative work environment and presently, very comforatable income.

Like what Huja asks, what is your criteria for moving, what improvement would it make to your life if you did?

Quote Originally Posted by Skyhook:
    the uncrowded nature of doing your day to day
    Drive in California much?
    shri, orel100x and jgl like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Kowloon Goon:
    You deliberately missed off the next words when quoting. "Day to day stuff" does not mean driving as far as I understand English
    Skyhook likes this.

Quote Originally Posted by hullexile:
    You deliberately missed off the next words when quoting. "Day to day stuff" does not mean driving as far as I understand English
    Drive in the Bay Area much?

Many ppl move to HK because of a significant increase in pay... This money allows them to deal with the heat, crowds, and any other thing you may not like about life here. Don't move here unless you have a much higher paying job.

GentleGeorge likes this.