ID card if one parent is Chinese?

Closed Thread

ID card if one parent is Chinese?

Hi everybody! I'm a bit new to all this so apologies if the answer is already out there.
    I'm thinking of moving out to HK to look for work, and I heard that I may be able to get a HK id card because my mum is HK Chinese, although she doesn't live there anymore. I have a Brit passport, wasn't born in HK and never lived there. So, does anyone know if I can apply for an id card, and if so what are the advantages of having one? ie, am I entitled to stay and work?
    Thanks for any help you can give!

If your mom is (was) HK Chinese, then you may qualify for resident visa (of course ID card) and live and work in HK.

The best way is to study thoroughly the HK immigration website at http://www.immd.gov.hk/ehtml/home.htm.

You may also want to e-mail the HK immigration people if you have any specific questions.

Thanks! I have tried looking on their website but maybe I just need to read it more carefully. I couldn't find anything specific to my case, or who is eligible for residency other than someone who has lived in HK for 7 years. I'll try emailing them.

According to the HK nationality laws, if your parents were born as Chinese citizens, then you qualify for China citizenship. In this case, you would have to renounce your UK citizenship as China does not recognize dual nationality.

Very possibly, you may also qualify for HK residency, but again, you should do your homework and get all the information directly from HK immigration and not depend on someone's (second-hand) opinion.

Hi, short answer to your questions:

1) Presumably you were born in the UK
    2) For you to automatically qualify as a Permanent resident in HK (or have the right to live and work in HK without being deported- same concept as Right of Abode in the UK)- when you were born, YOU SHOULD HAVE BEEN A CHINESE CITIZEN. Whether you automatically qualify to be a PR in HK depends on your nationality.