ex-pat to be

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

ex-pat to be

hi all...

i am an american teacher, and will be moving to hong kong in mid june. i'm terrifically excited about it, but i am a little nervous about meeting people. i'm very friendly, but i am going to be living with my sponsoring family for a while (they are helping me start up a violin school- living with them to keep costs to a minimum).
    1. what activities do you recommend for a mid 20something to get to know people? i wish there were some sort of big meeting for all new expats to get to know each other... does such a thing exist?

2. does anyone have any information about music education in hk? i'd like to get an idea of what private instruction is available to children, but i have not been able to find anything yet.

3. where do people go for wintersport activities? people must go somewhere to ski...

4. i'll be learning some form of chinese- do you recommend mandarin or cantonese?

thanks in advance!

-jennifer

Jennifer

Welcome to the boards.

Theres always something going on here socially and we're all a very sociable bunch of people and most of the people are around your age so you'll fit in fine.

As regards to language skills well Cantonese will be the best bet to start with for now.

1. what activities do you recommend for a mid 20something to get to know people? i wish there were some sort of big meeting for all new expats to get to know each other... does such a thing exist?
    As for getting to know people I would suggest coming to Geo Expats happy hours and other events. We do so many activies and all the people are great. That is more than enough for me, if u wanna meet even more if you play sports or take lessons in something that may be suitable.

2. does anyone have any information about music education in hk? i'd like to get an idea of what private instruction is available to children, but i have not been able to find anything yet.