Like Tree1Likes

Photography laws in HK

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Photography laws in HK

Hi,

I'm a advanced amateur photographer that takes a lot of street photography. Here in UK it's free to take photos of pretty much anything on public streets (even though some security people see it different) according to the law.

Now, I'm considering to move to HK and just wondered if anyone know how the laws is? So the senario is that I'm on a public street and taking pictures of people walking along. Is this OK according to the law or is there some restrictions? If you have a link to a government page about this then that would be great so I can read up on the subject.

Note that I have a rather scary looking DSLR which has a tendency to attract a lot of security people that just kindly want to make sure its not co-financed by our neighborhood terrorist group so I just want to know my rights before they start to "section 44" me

cqz likes this.

Basically the law here is the same as the UK, and you get the same problem with private security guards. If you're standing on a public street then, in principle, you can photograph anything, with very few exceptions: national security, invasion of privacy (a long lens looking into someone's apartment window, etc). Lots of people here have DSLRs so that's not a problem per se.

Got a visa (or right to reside here) by the way?

Thanks for the instant reply

Thats sounds good, Do you know a government site that I can read this? I don't mind getting approached by security since they can be handled easily with a smile and polite conversation, as long as I know that I have the law on my side. But I'm very glad to hear that is allowed since HK seems like a double rainbow for street photographers. So looking forward to start shooting there.

No, no visa yet. My dependent visa application is in the hand of the chinese consulate and I'm here 4 weeks later praying that they have sent it