Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By MovingIn07
  • 1 Post By carang
  • 2 Post By Dreadnought

terminating my helper

Closed Thread

terminating my helper

hi,

im new in HK and not aware of the HK regulations regarding domestic help.
    i just hired this filipina 4 days ago( leaving out) she comes when she wants and leaves when she wants. she supposed to work 12 hours but she does 8 at the max.
    she is careless with my son and so on...
    i want to terminate her. i didn't use any agency though. need to know what my next step should be and what should i expect

remember whatever you do... put everything in writing and let her counter sign it. and have a neutral 3rd party be a witness it. give a copy to her, to the immigration dept, and one for your file.

for more info:

When you decide to terminate the employment contract of your foreign domestic helper, you should notify the Immigration Department within 7 days of the date of termination. This article will tell you how to notify Immigration Department online.

GovHK: Online Notification of Premature Termination of Employment Contracts of Foreign Domestic Helpers

and

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region - Immigration Department

4 days is not a long time to evaluate someone. Would it not be wiser first to sit down with her and explain your expectations, why she is not meeting them and give her a little longer to adapt to you, and you to her, before terminating?

Football16 likes this.

not to mention the fact that if you hired her and she is on a FDH visa, it is ILLEGAL for her to live out... YOU could get into trouble, too.

you will find that EVERY house is run differently, with different expectations. you CANNOT expect her to know how YOU want things done unless YOU train her!!!

Football16 likes this.

First question is does she have a legal contract processed through the immigration dept.? If you have employed her illegally then you don't have to do anything.