Shady Chinese Employer-- Labour Law advice

Closed Thread

Shady Chinese Employer-- Labour Law advice

I've been in HK for a bit over year and left my previous school due to unethical practices.. only to find myself in another one. I'm starting to wonder if this a norm in Hong Kong. Much, I'd like to ask if
    anyone's expertise is in this area.. please read:

I am a Net teacher who started at a school in September. They hired me as a supply teacher. However, after two weeks into the work they offered me a class because a teacher had left the school.

I negotiated the salary with the principal and came to a figure ONLY after the princal agreed to offer
    me a flight allowance. She was quite hesitant, agreeing that she'd give me the first leg of the flight-- not the return.

After a week into this new position, I did not see a new contract. So I followed up with her assistant and asked how I was going to get my flight allowance.

She was surprised and took out my file, I noticed that INSTEAD of giving me a new contract-- they had swapped the FRONT page of the contract reflecting my new salary!!!

I talked to the principal about the flight allowance and she DENIED of EVER having any discussion or agreeing. She was condescending and defensive. She raised her voice and was being a big b*tch. One thing if she changed her mind about it, but she DENIED ever having such conversation. I was furious.

She said that I am not hired as an overseas teacher so I am not given that allowance. I disagreed with her because when she hired me she said I was an overseas teacher and was begging for me to take the free housing.