Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By bakachinoise
  • 1 Post By bakachinoise

Piano practice in HK

Closed Thread

Piano practice in HK

Hi - Does anyone know anywhere I could get onto a piano for a few hours a week to have a practice / play? I'm a self taught pianist of 20 years but since coming to HK, have hardly had a chance to play due to not having a piano / my gear here.

It doesn't necessarily need to be formal rehearsal rooms only (although a rundown / list of those available in HK would be useful), it could also be clubhouses or education establishments where there is a spare piano I could get onto if I ask the security guards nicely, etc etc.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by pb1234:
    Hi - Does anyone know anywhere I could get onto a piano for a few hours a week to have a practice / play? I'm a self taught pianist of 20 years but since coming to HK, have hardly had a chance to play due to not having a piano / my gear here.

It doesn't necessarily need to be formal rehearsal rooms only (although a rundown / list of those available in HK would be useful), it could also be clubhouses or education establishments where there is a spare piano I could get onto if I ask the security guards nicely, etc etc.

Thanks!
    I guess there aren't many pianists in Hong Kong then that don't have their own piano...

Hi, I've actually got my own piano now. I rented the smallest one possible for $220 a month (year contract). All of these music studios dotted around every neighborhood usually have hourly rates for using a practice room, some even with a grand piano. Unfortunately, I can't remember the range of prices, but I remember thinking it was a bit pricey for what it was (I guess space in Hong Kong comes at a dear price). Why don't you see what studios there are in your neighborhood and just pop in and ask them their rates? Of course some of the bigger music centers will also do this, too. YMCA might also have some rooms for renting.