Like Tree1Likes

Piano Teacher (Canadian) seeking advice

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Piano Teacher (Canadian) seeking advice

I am an experienced piano teacher of over 15 years. I moved to HK about 3 years ago. I am having a difficult time recruiting serious and talented students in HK. I cannot find the resources that I need as a private piano teacher like I had in Canada. There were lots of referral services, meetings, conferences, competitions, and festivals for piano teachers in Canada.

Any other fellow piano teachers who have moved to HK to live can give any advice how you got through this difficult period?

To my opinion, piano is a popular instrument among HK kids.

You may try to work with a store or music school (such as those on Caine Road, Mid-Levels or in Wan Chai), but you won't earn much at all. It may be better to remain independent.

Try all forms of advertising possible. There are even free ways to advertise. You may want to translate your advertisement into Chinese (to get any response).

If you have a grand piano, you will be able to recruit more students and charge more per lesson.

Good luck!

i'm interested to have piano lessons. Do u think it's a little late for me to pick it up ...i'm 32 !! How much does it cost and how long will it take for me play a basic tune ?

The problem in Hong Kong is that the piano teaching market is super competitive and there is ample supply...

maybe like shakira suggested there maybe a niche for adult learners that want to get into music later in life... if i had the cash i might go for it.

I am planning to become an individual piano teacher. It is quite disappointing that there isn't any well organized piano / music teacher association available in HK. There are a huge number of music teachers but I have to visit oversea websites to get any useful information. Hope the situation will be improved in the future.