Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By emx
  • 4 Post By mikebravo

Divorced-Signed mutual agreement and have been seperated for 1 year.

Closed Thread

Divorced-Signed mutual agreement and have been seperated for 1 year.

I am Chinese Indonesian and have been married to a Hong Kongnese for 19 years. We have signed a mutual divorce agreement in my lawyer office on 14th Febuary 2018.

My lawyer said because of the signed mutual agreement, after 1 year seperation. We are officially divorce.

My government said there should be a divorce certificate issued by Hong Kong. Anyone knows where I can obtain this and where should I go?

All inputs appreciated.

You need to present a petition in the Family Court yourself, in person.

https://www.judiciary.hk/en/court_se...s/divorce.html

mikebravo likes this.

CLIC has a good flow chart. Follow the 1 year separation by mutual consent...

CLIC - Family, Matrimonial and Cohabitation: Divorce

I am sorry to hear of your circumstances. I am not a lawyer here but I just went through the divorce process without the assistance of any lawyers. Our circumstances were much simpler though: we did not have children or pets and we weren't after each other's money or assets.

First of all, were you and your soon to be ex-spouse (I'll just call him/her your ex for the sake of convenience) married in Hong Kong? What is this mutual divorce agreement signed in your lawyer's office though? Is it like a statement saying you and the ex have not lived together since such and such a date?

As emx said, to kick off the divorce proceedings in Hong Kong you need to file a petition. It could either be done on your own accord or it could be a joint application with your ex. You can do it through a lawyer too if you two cannot sort things out between yourselves, although many would highly recommend lawyering up because people are often at their nastiest when it comes to splitting assets and so forth (sweet couples can turn into nasty exes).