Like Tree12Likes

What if you can't use Cantonese for a day?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Question What if you can't use Cantonese for a day?

Hi, I am a local student working on a school project about the the impact to people's speech abilities if locals can't use English and native English speakers can't use Cantonese for a day. I know few native English speakers so I am asking for your help. If you do decide to participate, just reply below if/how not use Cantonese affect how you talk to others, and maybe include a few Cantonese words that you wanted to use. Thank you for your time!

My middle finger is understandable in any language.

blandy62 likes this.

@HKO2006 many of us would be happy to help answer a survey to help you. You ask two questions in one "if/how". Could you maybe write your questions as one question each? Try to be a bit more specific. Maybe you can write a list of 3-5 questions?

Quote Originally Posted by HKO2006:
    Hi, I am a local student working on a school project about the the impact to people's speech abilities if locals can't use English and native English speakers can't use Cantonese for a day. I know few native English speakers so I am asking for your help. If you do decide to participate, just reply below if/how not use Cantonese affect how you talk to others, and maybe include a few Cantonese words that you wanted to use. Thank you for your time!
    Interesting topic thanks .
    OK I am native English speaker I can read and write traditional characters and easily read a Chinese newspaper and technical papers in my job field.
    My spoken Canto is near fluent except technical terms outside my field
    I am the only foreigner in a very large company and if I could not speak canto I wouldn't be able to even start my job every day as all colleagues use canto and a good number have no English ability at all and further more the computer system I must use is in Chinese mainly

Quote Originally Posted by hongkong7: