Wills better than prenuptials in divorces?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Wills better than prenuptials in divorces?

I have been informed that drawing up a Will here in HKG, will protect your assets if a divorce occured, ie if I put all my assets in a will for my family to inherit everything, then any future spouse would not have a right to any of the assets if thats the way I wanted it to be. This is probably how all these mega stars here in HKG protect their assets when they divorce.
    useful comments appreciated

thanks in advance

I am not a lawyer, but as I understand it, if you are domiciled in Hong Kong and all your assets are in Hong Kong then maybe. But if, say, you are domiciled and the bulk of your assets are in the US then having a will drawn up under HK law isn't going to change much in respect your wife's right to inheritance.

If you are thinking like this, perhaps the safest thing is not to marry?

Quote Originally Posted by MovingIn07:
    If you are thinking like this, perhaps the safest thing is not to marry?
    Or stay away from gold diggers

Having been totally stuffed in my divorce you would think I would err on the side of prenuptials, but no I agree with Moving - if you are thinking like this then don't get married.

Hmm - I am not sure that drawing up a Will will offer much (if any) protection upon divorce. Surely a Will only deals with assets upon the death of the party making the Will? Until such time, any assets held by any party to the marriage are up for grabs. If what you claim is true about making a Will then it puts the weaker party at a severe disadvantage and would doubtlessly be challenged.