ESL Teaching

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

ESL Teaching

Just a quicky, probably been asked a thousand times already.

Im an ESL teacher and was wondering how hard it is to find work in HK without having a Bachelors degree or the such. (Basically just have my ESL Qualification). Is anyone in the same boat or has anyone experienced this that they might share how they went.

Thanks in advance

Pretty easy

I came here about 16 mths ago with no degree, only TESOL, same as u, and within 1 month I was working. I could have been working sooner but I was picky. You won't get work in a school, more likely in a language institute, and the hours can be long. I was working Tues-Saturday, and 3 hrs on Sunday, with Monday off. Count on working weekends, thats the money time for these companies. Getting my work visa was a little tricky tho, since I should have had a sponsoring employer BEFORE I arrived (I knew that ;-)), but you won't get sponsored from overseas without a degree. My boss was great and fudged the rules a bit. Now I'm set, working at a new job, a kindergarten with awesome holidays, great hours (no weekends) and great staff.

Bottom line is...if you're adventurous and determined, go for it. It may not be as easy as 10 yrs ago, but it can be done. Good Luck!

thankyou timklip, its great to have some positive feed back from people who have done it. I have had an endless amount of negative response on this subject. But as you said I like a challenge so its all about the journey not the destination.

Just another quicky, what salaries can you expect with just the TESOL qualificaiton?

Cheers again

Age seems to matter, friend is 55, has TOEFL, MSn, MBA and has taught various subjcts at the university level. No luck.

I've noticed a fair amount of the advertising has age limits on the application. More often than not its 40. Being 24 though I don't see a problem with there, (hopefully anyways).

as far as salary....(in HK Dollars)