How much did you pay for Mandarin lessons?

How much did you pay for Mandarin lessons?

I need to improve my spoken Mandarin (a lot). I've been having a very difficult time finding a new job that doesn't require fluent Mandarin, and I am just not there yet language wise.

Anyway, judging from an earlier thread on gym membership fees and how I overpaid for my flat screen TV a few months back, I am not very good at finding bargains in HKG (although I am a pro back home in the States). I realize every student/tutor/school is different, but a few extra data points would be helpful in my search.

So, whether you got individual 1-1 lessons or attended a class, would you mind sharing how much you paid and other specifics (class type, location, contract length, your language ability before and after, etc.)? Would you go back (assuming that type of consumer feedback is permitted here)?

Also, if you are a tutor/teacher, please feel free to PM me ONCE with your rates. I will contact you if I am interested or have further questions.

Last edited by tsuiwah; 24-06-2005 at 06:00 PM.

Hi Tsuiwah,

My sister and I took Mandarin lessons at a place called "Hong Kong Language Learning Center". All mandarin courses were $2070 HKD for 10 lessons (2 hours each) for 5 weeks. So basically classes were 2 days a week.