NOW broadband connections

Reply
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Belcher's
    Posts
    273

    NOW broadband connections

    I have a NOW broadband cable and Netvigator internet service (from PCCW). But I can connect just one TV to the cable. I want to be able to connect two TVs in the apt. without paying double the price (and one internet, as now). Is that possible? How?


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    23,221

    If you want to connect two TVs but watching different channels at the same time then there is no alternative to two instances of the service. That is a fundamental technical limitation of the way the service is delivered.

    Two TVs watching the same channel is trivial to do with cabling.


  3. #3

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    That's right two connections is possible from the back of the same box as it already has two sets of composite cables. If distance is a factor you could get a wireless a/v set which will broadcast the signal to the other end of your flat.


  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    76

    I noticed a neat little AV Transmitter yesterday, even had a remote control; the bloke in the shop reckons 300m range which I find hard to believe

    The price is HK580 which seems a bit steep, will check out the computer centre first

    I want one for recording from TV to my computer


  5. #5

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    Yeah I'll bet it's more like 300feet line of sight.


  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    KT South of the Tracks
    Posts
    742

    For the broadband you could get a wireless router. I used to do this in london to split broadband three ways. Havent tried it here but see no reason why it shouldnt work. Alternatively, just get the wireless modem and use it to pick up on other peoples router signals. I believe this is standard HK practice whilst waiting for the broadband people to install. You dont get a brilliant connection, but its enough to check your mail with, and its free....


  7. #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Belcher's
    Posts
    273

    The cable box has two outlets. I need one for the broadband and the other I need to manipulate, somehow, to be able to have cable running on two TVs (different channels, very often). From your replies, I feel this is not going to happen. Don't you think its absolutely stupid! If someone has two (or more) TVs and a computer, that person is expected to pay double the price?! In the US, you need just one connection and can pay (a one time small fee) for the additional TVs you want connected.

    I am disappointed!


  8. #8

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4,279

    shwetapershad,
    You might be missing something here. The ADSL modem has one power cable and three other cables connected to it. Of the three one goes to your wall outlet, one to your computer and one to your NOW broadband box. The NOW broadband box has three cables to your tv. The same box can connect to a second tv or a vcr or dvd recorder - you just need a set of three cables. Hope this is not redundant advice.


  9. #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Belcher's
    Posts
    273

    discobay, I see what you mean. Do you know how much they charge if I have a second TV connected?


  10. #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    23,221

    Fundamentally, NOW is completely different from CableTV. It is a streaming service, not a broadcast service. There is NO WAY that a single NOW connection can carry more than one TV signal at once. If you want to watch two different channels simultaneously then you need two NOW connections.

    (This may change in the future if they can get the bandwidth up to the 25Mb/s that they are targetting, but given that 6Mb/s seems to be pushing the limits of the copper currently I wouldn't hold your breath)


Reply
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast