Visa for Non Degree Holders

Closed Thread

Visa for Non Degree Holders

Hi,

myself and my girlfriend are looking into relocating to HK. I work in the financial sector and can possibly get a transfer within my bank. She is currently applying for jobs out there. However we both are qualified to diploma level. I have read you need a degree for a working Visa in HK.
    Can anyone advise how strict this is if we secure employment out there?

Thanks

If you're on an internal transfer with a multinational then they should be able to make the case to ImmD that you have special knowledge or skills that they need, so not having a degree isn't a show-stopper per se.

For your girlfriend it may be more of a problem if she's just looking to pick up a job locally, but if you get married (assuming you are male) then she could get a Dependant Visa which would allow her to work freely without further Immigration paperwork. Alternatively, if she holds a passport from Australia, NZ, Ireland, Canada, Germany or Japan and is aged under 30 then she could get a Working Holiday Visa for a year to see whether she likes the place first (before marrying you!).

Thanks for your response, as you said I would be transferring within a multinational so hopefully they could make the case for me. My girlfriend would be able to apply for the 1 year working Visa as she meets the criteria under age and nationality. Would you be able to advise when the year visa is up, is it possible to extend this or what is the procedure then.

Thanks again

Picking up this question,

@PDLM
    Say I'm offered a job in the design field and lacking a degree, is there a chance for convincing the immigration dept to pass through the work visa?

What other road blocks might be expected?

Quote Originally Posted by Paulsta:
    Picking up this question,

@PDLM
    Say I'm offered a job in the design field and lacking a degree, is there a chance for convincing the immigration dept to pass through the work visa?