Obtaining a Working Visa or Working Holiday Visa

Closed Thread

Obtaining a Working Visa or Working Holiday Visa

Hello,

I am currently trying to move to HK from Canada. I have both a Canadian and Uk Passport. I was originally going to apply for my Working Holiday Visa but do not like the idea of moving back after 12 months and heard it was hard to extend your stay in any way. I am a fashion designer that specializes in Handbags and jewelry. I have been working for myself so I do not have experience designing for any other companies. I also do not speak chinese... yet. I think it will be hard for me to get a company to sponsor me so is the best to just get a Working Holiday Visa and then figure something else out after a year. I am also wondering what the regulations are for me to carry on with my own business making and selling handbags.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Lucy.

Hi,

Not sure whether setting up a business straight away would be a sound business plan. In any eventuality here is the link for the capital investment scheme.

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region - Immigration Department

It outlines setting up a business in HK but as you would expect the criteria can be demanding especially if a small start up. The investment amount is HK$10m and still requires you to have addresses in both countries (Hong Kong and country of residence).

In terms of fashion I am not sure how easy it will be to break into if you do not speak Chinese. I have a few friends that work in various areas of fashion including designing but all speak and write Chinese. This may be an issue if you start a business also but worth investigating.

Personally, I would apply for the WHV on your Canadian passport to spend time out here and see if you can find temporary work with any companies. This will get you experience and if you make an impression you may secure a sponsorship.