Like Tree33Likes

Entitlements of Dependent Visa Holders

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Entitlements of Dependent Visa Holders

I may move back from U.S.A. to Hong Kong with my American citizen husband. I grew up in Hong Kong and therefore I am a permanent resident. I will help my husband to get a dependent visa when we are in town. However, I don't know if my husband can be entitled to Hong Kong public services, especially medical care in public hospitals, like permanent residents?

How long will a dependent visa last? Is renewal easy? Will my husband be holding this dependent visa until he resides over 7 years and then apply for the HK permanent ID card? What if he is required to leave Hong Kong for business or family visit in the U.S.A.?

Any advice will be appreciated. Many thanks!

rthk88 likes this.

(1) entitled to access to the nearly free gov't hospital facilities
    (2) whatever the immigration decides but there is a usual amount of time (1- 3 years, i can't remember which)
    (3) so long as you are still married, it is very easy to renew it (you need to continue to prove that you can support him)
    (4) unless he decides to apply for a work visa (why he would do this, i have no idea... fewer restrictions on a dependent visa)
    (5) he is not tied to remaining in hk for the entire duration of the 2-3 year visa---of course, he can take a holiday. but, he must reside here.
    (6) he is allowed to work/study/be a househusband---whatever he likes to do---on a dependent visa

Last edited by carang; 10-01-2013 at 10:12 AM.
    keikofanny and rthk88 like this.

If your husband receives a dependents visa, he will get a HKID and be entitled to all services at the hospital just like you.

I'm not sure in your case how long between renewals, but I would think 1 year or 2 year periods. Renewal is very easy.

If your husband is ordinarily resident for 7 years he will be eligible for PR himself.