Can you privately tutor in HK without a work visa?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Can you privately tutor in HK without a work visa?

I've recently signed a two year contract with a language center and they applied for my work visa. After a few weeks the Immigration Department got back to them saying they want more info on my teaching experience. Only problem is I have only three months private tutoring (alongside a degree and TEFL).

So firstly, is it actually illegal to be private tutoring without a visa? I was not aware of the legality of it all, but I would've thought it was harmless, especially due to the fact that it's aiding my experience in the field.

If it is okay, I can ask the parents of the kids I tutor to write me a reference letter.

If not, I'll just have to tell them I have no experience. Ho hum.

I'm 24, living in HK with my g/f who is a HK resident I met when she was studying in England. We plan to settle down in HK (marriage isn't on the cards... quite yet) and i'm looking to make a go in the teaching field after finding it nigh impossible to get an I.T. job (my major) here.

I have financial support from my father and my g/f has financial support from her family, so we aren't looking to cut any corners. Just trying to be fine, young, upstanding citizens.

My old flatmate told me she knew a guy who taught English on a visitor visa exemption to support himself for six months. The likelyhood of you being caught is very slim but the consequences can be very severe. You'll be put in jail for three years and the person who employs you can be put in jail for up to ten years.

There's no visa that will really allow you to take up employment freely unless you have a dependant visa sponsored by a permanent resident or an investment visa. These visas have no other conditions of stay other than duration. There's no other way to really make this legal unless you have the Right of abode or Right to land in Hong Kong from what I know.