Quality Migrant Admission Scheme - Help

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Quality Migrant Admission Scheme - Help

Hi, I was wondering if there are any successful applicants under the Quality Migrant Admissions Scheme (QMS) here on Geoexpat. I have been traveling for quite a while and have been in HK for a few months and absolutely love this place and want to move here! Im currently in HK (but will travel to china and possibly another country for another month or two) and in the process of filling out the QMS form.

Here is some info about me:
    -Worked in Toronto as a civil engineer for about 6 years
    -Under the point based scheme I can get 100 points
    -Single no kids
    -Proficient in English but can understand and speak basic Cantonese (with some hesitation and an accent)
    -I have a large network of friends and some family members here (aunt and uncle)
    -I have accommodation already set up
    -Mother is from HK, father from China, but theyve immigrated to Canada 30+ years ago

So I was wondering what my chances for acceptance are? Is there a market in HK for civil engineers? I may switch careers once here, but Ill use my engineering experience to try get myself into HK any thoughts on this?

Should I apply now while Im here, or wait until I have completed my travels, which should be in July?

Can anyone whos applied share his or her experiences (successful or unsuccessful)?

Any comments, negative or positive, will be much appreciated!

Also, please feel free to IM or email me at [email protected]roadband.com

Thanks

If your mother is from Hong Kong, you might not even need to apply for the quality migrant scheme. You should be eligible for the right to land which gives you unconditional stay in Hong Kong. You'll have the freedom to work ,study and live in Hong Kong without restriction.