Work Visa Refused

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Work Visa Refused

Okay, so i'm a 24 year old University graduate from England (lived there all my life) and have a 100-hour online TEFL under my belt. I have no previous teaching experience bar friends and family in HK i practice lessons with for free (five months at it), but i've come from a well educated background; Diploma in I.T and a Higher Diploma in Business Computer Systems. As I found it difficult to get a sponsor in this field in HK, i turned to a TEFL as I thought the eight years spent in education coupled with a TEFL albeit 100-hour online was enough. (Course Details)

Anyway I got lucky and hit it off instantly with the owner of one language center and we signed my contract right away. They were perfectly happy with my educational background and level of teaching knowledge as they provide training. They said they were confident my visa would be granted as they've sponsored well over a dozen people to date. Okay, so two months pass and still no reply from the Immgration board and then last night I get confirmation that my application was refused.

"Under the existing policy, a person seeking to enter HK for employment should possess a "special skill, knowledge, or experience of value that is not readily available in the HKSAR."

"We are not satisifed that your case meets the aforesaid criteria. Your application is therefore refused."

I live with my HK g/f I met in England four years ago (we have proof of living together, etc), but we aren't ready for marriage (á la resident visa) as it's a big thing for her family and they don't want us getting married just for convenience. Her mum is quite ill and as to why we are actually here in the first place. I explained all this to the Immgration with all my details, but to no avail.