Like Tree3Likes

Separated, big problem?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Separated, big problem?

I got married to a HK girl about a year ago and got a dependent visa. We've since separated and my dependent visa runs out on the 30th April. So my work are going to try and get me a working visa. I'm a graduate, and my job is writing in native English so hopefully it won't be too much of a problem. The problem I foresee is that there's a good chance this won't go through before the 30th April.

The question is, if I don't receive my working visa by then, I'll have to leave the country on the 30th April or I'll be overstaying. So if I go to Macau and come back, will they let me back in on a tourist visa after they see that I had a dependent visa that has expired?

I really don't know what to do. I can't leave the country until I get the visa because I just can't afford it.

Great username BTW.

If your company applies for your visa before 30th April, you are fine with staying, but then you can't leave HK till you get your new visa.
    But I am sure Grunt will be along shortly with his advise.

tinlissie likes this.

Firstly, it's you that applies for an Employment Visa - your employer is your sponsor.

If I were you I would go to ImmD ASAP (i.e. tomorrow) with all the Employment Visa forms and supporting documents and a cover letter explaining your situation, and request to speak to an Immigration Officer to explain your situation and request urgent handling.

However, if you are paid so little money that a trip to Macau is beyond your means then I wonder if your salary will be deemed sufficient to justify an Employment Visa...

Thanks for the replies.