Working Visa

Closed Thread

Working Visa

Hi all, I just so glad that i found this forum before i make any moving adjustments.

Here is my story, a bit long and boring but just bear with me.

I am Chinese national with US greed card/permanent resident card and in the process of naturalization for US citizenship. I just got hired by a hong Kong company as Assistant operation manager. I have a AA degree and while my BS degree is pending. I have almost 5 years professional experiences working with project around the globe as my previous job.

Here are my questions.
    1. How would the BS degree pending affect my working visa with immigration?

2. Is it easier to apply for the visa at Hong Kong immigration office or oversea Chinese consulate? (like Chinese consulate of SFO)

3. Do i need to make adjustments to the visa once my US citizenship approve, i would assume i do, just want to know how complicated if anyone knew.

4. Salary is above $20k i saw in the forum but is it too low for the immigration to consider??

Thank you all

You say you are Chinese national. Does that mean you hold the PRC passport? Just checking as people from Taiwan,Macau, Hong Kong etc tend to call themselves the same.

If you do hold the PRC passport I believe there is some special procedures for you. You may want to email [email protected] just to clarify things as well. Once you have a US passport things will be much easier.

But note that Chinese citizens who also hold permanent residency elsewhere are treated differently from those wishing to move directly from the Mainland, so you need to make your situation very clear.

I would have thought that your future HR department making the application on your behalf here in Hong Kong would be the easiest way. Assuming you are not the first expat they have employed then they should know their way through the process.

Thank you for your prompt replies. Yes i hold a PRC passport. I have been US for over 10 years.