Like Tree8Likes

Starting a Company to Obtain a Working Visa

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Starting a Company to Obtain a Working Visa

Hi,

I've been admitted to start a part-time MBA program in the fall at HKUST, with the part-time MBA program being able to provide me with a part-time study visa. However, my Hong Kong resident (but not PR) girlfriend has recently found a job in Hong Kong (we previously lived in Shenzhen), and I would like to move with her to Hong Kong full-time. The university is unable to help me obtain a full-time visa, as I am a part-time student. I don't want to apply for a part-time student visa, tell immigration that I'll only be in HK for say 150 days per year, then overstay that number by living in HK for say 300 days per year.

I currently work remotely from my laptop as an independent contractor (US citizen, file taxes in US, 1099), but this is more a function of the company that I work for, in that I have regular work, earn a regular monthly salary (approx. HK$75-80K), and am affiliated with an American company that has been in business since 2000.

One possibility that I have looked into is starting a Hong Kong company (basically "US Company Name, Hong Kong, LLC") and having my US employer pay my salary into a HK company bank account. I would then have the company hire me as its only employee. My employer in the US has signed off on this, noting that it would legitimately bring benefit to our company in that I would be closer to our small but growing client base in Hong Kong. My work is fairly specialized (industry analyst for a niche industry, and have been doing so for >5 years), so I think it would be plausible to argue that local talent is not available.