Like Tree4Likes

Strange situation, Hong Kong ID ROA 36 months rule.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Strange situation, Hong Kong ID ROA 36 months rule.

Hi all,

I'm so stressed out at the moment, I did not know about this 3 year rule, only up till this week. Did not applied for HK ID card before 1997 but successfully applied for ROA ***AO, Hong Kong passport and huixiangzheng (China go home permit) during 2012 and 2013. My parents are originally from HK and acquired the German nationality after I was born. But they were settled in Germany thus according to Chinese PRC law I'm not a Chinese citizen by birth which means the 36 month rule applies to me..... (Point Q10 in source) Right of Abode | Immigration Department

My situation is a bit strange. Theoretically I have not exceed the 36 month rule but I have been entering and exiting HK with my German passport for the past 4 years. Which means I have not been using my HK ID card for 4 years. (Don't ask me why.....) Am I going to lose my ROA status? Or is entering with foreign passport also countable?

The last time using my HK ID was only for entering HK, I used my German passport during exit. The emigration could not find me in the system, I told them I used my HK ID to enter and did not brought it with me at the moment. They just let me out and told me don't do this again in the future. I'm sure my HK ID is not connected to that passport because I renewed it which comes with a different number which is different from the one I used for applying for the HK ID. Does this means the HK ID me is stil in HK according to there system?

If you have *** and a China go home permit then you ARE considered a Chinese citizen and the 36 month rule doesn't apply to you. Only Chinese citizens can get the huixiangzheng, and whilst there were mistakes made in granting ***, I've never heard of any in granting huixiangzheng.

chuckster007 and spode like this.