Like Tree10Likes

After applying for a Permanent Residence, what happens with mainland wife

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Question After applying for a Permanent Residence, what happens with mainland wife

Dear all,

For those of you who have the knowledge, I would like to ask something:

I am a Spanish resident working in Hong Kong for over 6 years now. I married with my chinese mainland girlfriend in 2014, and invited her to Hong Kong as a dependant (she is a dependant under my working visa, since the middle of 2014).
    I was just wondering, if I apply for permanent residence after 7 years, what will happen with my wife (who has been in HK for only about 3 years and half). We also have a baby who was born in Hong Kong one year and half ago, who is automatically a Permanent resident for being a Chinese citizen (mother is Chinese).

I would appreciate any suggestions from the experts.

Thanks, and best regards,

Joan

She continues as a dependent of a permanent ID card holder - not sure about the mainland issues, but this is what is normal for the rest of us.

Correct me if I am wrong, but she won’t be a pr in her own right till she has resided in Hong Kong seven years as well.

I think the issue here is whether a mainland Chinese dependent of foreigners (working in HK on employment visa) are treated differently from Chinese dependents of local HK residents. I don't know the answer, but I vaguely recollect that this is one example where getting PR is WORSE OFF than staying on an employment visa. Aren't there thousands of mainland wifes of local HKers queing up to enter HK, whereas mainland wifes of foreigners working in HK can jump the queue?

if you become PR doesnt she have to line up with the rest of the ppl waiting for a one way or two way permit, which ever it is and that can take a long time so some foreigners dont bother changing to PR. hmmmm

imparanoic likes this.