Like Tree19Likes

Terminated in 2010 - New Job & Work Visa?

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Terminated in 2010 - New Job & Work Visa?

Hi all.
    i was working in Hong kong in 2010 with a valid work permit for 2 years. then after 03 months, i was terminated. i joined and i immediately returned to my home country. now im looking at a new opportunity after about 08 years and id like to know if there will be any visa issues when my new employer applies the work permit for me. thanks for your reply in advance.

no there won't be any issue. As long as you have the correct qualification you will be fine.

It also depends what type of work we are talking about. I've hear helpers being refused visa after their employer terminated them and provided really negative feedback to immigration.

Otherwise there shouldnt be any problems

shri likes this.

Hi plutark, thanks for your reply. I worked as a senior merchandiser and now I’m looking for a Director position. Other aspects are all ok and I’m only worried about the termination I had 08 years back.

depends on why u were terminated also. because you do need to get a reference letter from the companies that terminated you.
    if you were terminated due to business retrenchment, its entirely natural...

What happened to you 8 years ago has nothing to do with the upcoming Visa application, as long as you have the qualifications, its a job that a local cant do, salary is not low then you will be alright.

TheBrit, shri and Gayan1016 like this.

Original Post Deleted
    I am sure when you submit your VISA application you attached a series of 'proof of service' letter to the visa so that can be processed easily. Those letters are also used for employer to cross reference check your previous credential. I know i have sent them all three times i applied for a VISA in hk.