Dependent Visa

Closed Thread

Question Dependent Visa

Hi people I have got a problem and I hope somebody will help me on this. My Gf is HK born HK national and we are getting married later this year. After that I plan to take the dependent visa to stay with her in HK. I am an IT professional, so my question is when i visit HK later this year for getting married will it be fine to apply for depedent visa at that time or do i have to stay out of HK to apply for it? my GF is still a student so she is not earning anything.

I want to know how much savings I have to show to immigration authorities in my dependent visa requirements and what other documents i will require for that? I had emailed [email protected] regarding all the questions i've asked above but they just replied with general answers so i am more confused now. I hope someone can give me some concrete answer that will help us on this. I will be very grateful for that.

Smile Dependant Visa

Bradd,

I've been in the exact situation you now find yourself in. I am married to a girl from HK and trying to find out what to do is a nightmare! Both myself an my wife contacted immigration here on various occassions and got several different answers! Anyway here's how we did it.

We got married here in HK and then went down to immigration to apply for dependant status. Theoritically as soon as you are married to an HK permanent ID card holder you should be able to work. This isn't as easy as it seems as most companies want to see an ID card. Now again theoretically you should apply for depandant status while you are not in HK but we did it here anyway. When my Visa came through I had to leave Hong Kong and come back in to validate this visa. A day in Shenzhen did that OK.